Administrative Boundaries

Photo of a fenceAdministrative Boundaries are legally documented and attributed jurisdictional boundaries. These boundaries define the rights, responsibilities, and interests on the land.

Data and Documentation

Administrative Boundary Data


Interactive map of Administrative Boundaries

Web Map Services

Administrative Boundaries Service

Administrative Boundaries Service - Web Mercator version


Administrative Boundaries is not one dataset, but a collection of sub-themes. Currently MSL maintains the following sub-themes: 

Sub-theme Documentation Download Data Definition Data Steward Last Published
State gdb / shp Boundary of Montana MSL Oct 2017
County gdb / shp Boundaries of the 56 counties in Montana MSL Dec 2017
Incorporated Cities/Towns gdb / shp Boundaries of the 129 incorporated cities and towns in Montana MSL Oct 2017
American Indian Reservations gdb / shp Boundaries for the seven (7) Tribal Nations within Montana MSL Nov 2017
School Districts gdb / shp Boundaries for Elementary, Secondary (High School), and K-12 (Unified) School Districts in Montana MSL Dec 2017
Weed Districts gdb / shp Boundaries for the 56 Weed Districts in Montana MSL Oct 2017
Tax Increment Financing Districts (TIFD) gdb / shp Urban Renewal, Targeted Economic Development, Industrial, and Aerospace/Transportation/Technology District Boundaries MSL/Montana Department of Revenue Oct 2017
National Park Boundaries gdb / shp National Parks boundaries that include land in Montana MSL/National Park Service Oct 2017
Managed Areas gdb / shp Boundary of state and federal managed areas in Montana including wilderness, wild and scenic rivers, wildlife management areas, etc. MSL/Montana Natural Heritage Program Dec 2016
Fire Districts   Structural Fire Departments (SFD) in Montana Montana DNRC  

Status of Adminstrative Boundaries Framework


  • December 2017
    • Geometry Updates: County Boundaries updated
    • School District Updates:
      • Updates to Lodge Grass, Wyola, Spring Creek EL Boundaries
      • Updates to Lodge Grass, Power River County, and Hardin HS Boundaries
  • November 2017
    • Geometry Updates: Crow Reservation Boundary updated 
    • School District Updates:
      • Updates to Sanders County School District Boundaries
      • Updates to Malta and Whitewater K-12 Boundaries
      • Updates to Frazer and Lustre EL Boundaries
      • Updates to Amsterdam and Manhattan EL/HS Boundaries
      • Added FY17 enrollment data from Office of Public Instruction (OPI)
  • October 2017
    • Geometry Updates: All datasets were adjusted to align with the latest CadNSDI Montana (PLSS) and Cadastral datasets published October 2017
    • County, County Line, Weed Control Districts:
      • LEWIS & CLARK renamed to LEWIS AND CLARK
    • School District Updates:
      • Abandonment and attachment of Shawmut EL (LE0904) to Harlowton EL (LE0945)
      • Updates to Ravalli County School District Boundaries
  • September 2017
    • School District Updates:
      • Annexation of Plains EL (LE0802) to Plains HS (LE0803) to form Plains K-12 (LE0803)
  • May 2017
    • Incorporated Cities and Towns schema updates: added Year Incorporated, Acres, and Square Miles
    • Geometry updates for the following Incorporated Cities and Towns: Belgrade, Billings, Bozeman, Columbia Falls, Conrad, Darby, Glasgow, Great Falls, Hamilton, Hardin, Helena, Kalispell, Lewistown, Miles City, Missoula, Stevensville, Three Forks, Twin Bridges, Whitefish 
  • January 2017
    • Update the FIPS Code in the Incorporated Cities & Towns database to the full seven digit code
  • December 2016
    • The Managed Areas database has been updated with the latest data and adjusted to the latest CadNSDI Montana (PLSS) and Cadastral datasets published March 2016. In addition to shapefile format a file geodatabase is also now available for download. Both now include a symbology layer file with the download
  • October 2016
    • Geometry Updates: All datasets were adjusted to align with the latest CadNSDI Montana (PLSS) and Cadastral datasets published March 2016
    • ‚ÄčTax Increment Financing District (TIFD): Geometry updates for the East Billings Urban Renewal District (EBURD)
    • School Districts updates: Updated the school district county superintendent and enrollment tables with the latest data from the Office of Public Instruction (OPI)
  • September 2016
    • Geometry updates for the following Incorporated Cities and Towns: Billings, Bozeman, Broadview, Circle, Columbia Falls, Culbertson, Froid, Great Falls, Helena, Kalispell, Laurel, Missoula, Polson, Poplar, Whitefish
    • Tax Increment Financing District (TIFD): geometry update for Livingston Urban Renewal District; added the Helena Railroad TIF District
    • School Districts Updates
      • Culbertson EL
      • Brockton EL
      • Brockton HS
      • Froid HS
      • Poplar HS
      • Culbertson HS
      • Bainville K-12 Schools
      • Annexation of Big Sandy EL (LE0137) to Big Sandy HS (LE0138) to form Big Sandy K-12 (LE0138)
      • Abandonment and attachment of Paradise EL (LE0808) to Plains EL (LE0802)
      • Abandonment and attachment of Cottonwood EL (LE0182) to Trail Creek EL (LE0177)
  • January 2016
    • School District Updates
      • Warrick EL (LE0144) was dissolved into Big Sandy EL (LE0137)
      • Whitlash EL (LE0506) was dissolved into Chester-Joplin-Inverness EL (LE1236)
      • Deep Creek EL (LE1195) was dissolved into Cascade EL (LE0101)
      • Lennep EL (LE0568) was dissolved into White Sulphur Springs EL (LE0569)
      • White Sulphur Springs EL (LE0569) was annexed into White Sulphur Springs K-12 (LE0570)
  • September 2015
    • Geometry Updates: Counties, Incorporated Cities and Towns, TIFDs, Weed Control Districts, and School Districts were adjusted to align with the July 2015 CadNSDI Montana (PLSS) and Cadastral datasets, which were adjusted using data from the following CadNSDI adjustment projects: Gallatin and Park
    • Added the Savage Elementary School District and combined the Warrick Elementary District with the Big Sandy Elementary School District. And, corrected school district names and Legal Entity (LE) identificaiton numbers
    • Updated the Weed Coordinator contact information in Weed Control Districts